The Pier

Barely 20 minutes drive, Deerfield Beach is the closest beach to where we live. Five years ago we decided to move down to South Florida, to be nearer to the beach because of my asthma.

I work the grave yard shift, I should enjoy the beach more often but real life has it’s detours. Plans doesn’t always materialize as much as we want them to be. I guess this is why adult life is complicated. Life is far easier when we were still young.

The Deerfield Beach Pier is one of the structures that directs your eyes to the sea. Each time I visit this pier, it tells me a different lesson. I was reminded of the novel The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger which I read more than 15 years ago. The main character Holden passes the public library growing up and each time he passes by, it was never the same. The structures were the same, nothing new but what’s odd is that something is always new.

The Pier, is always the same, like Holden, I feel that there is always something new in the same familiar places. The changes are taking place inside me, I am growing up. A feeling of ambiguity. Scared but excited. Growing up is a part of life that we should never be afraid. It is after all the culmination of what our parents have prepared us for when we were still a child. Adulthood is not only a developmental milestone but as well as a gift to our beloved parents, who we are, what we become and strives to become. All in one package. It is the best gift we can ever give to our family.

20140529-070230-25350896.jpg
The Deerfield Beach Pier, Deerfield Beach, Florida

Psalm 100:5
For the LORD is good and his love endures forever; his faithfulness continues through all generations.

Leave a Reply

