Gratitude

As I continue to ponder what kept me afloat during the difficult times. I found another answer.

Gratitude.

Gratitude is a way of life. Not only when we are in abundance but also in our times of need as well as in the ordinary days of our lives. It is the shifting of our paradigms from looking at the glass half full rather than half empty.

When I wake up in the morning, I thank The Lord for another day He has given me. When I am faced with life’s giants, I thank The Lord for another opportunity to increase my faith, to trust him more and to show my obedience in every aspect of my life.

There are moments that I failed to live the life of gratitude too. It is when I let my problems overwhelm me. In moments that I relied on my own capacities and strength. In situations that I took control rather than seeking God first.

Everyday is an opportunity to learn. To learn to keep the faith. To trust God more. To let God be in control. To thank God for every predicament we are in.

And be excited of what awaits us. That is living life with gratitude.

20140605-034218-13338217.jpg
Every person in this photo has a different story to tell. But one thing I am sure of, we are thankful of how God brought us to where we are right now. Taken 4 years ago during our West Visayas State University College of Nursing Grand Reunion at Chicago,Illinois. We belong to Class 1998.
Photo Credit: Joe Belandres

“To be grateful is to recognize the Love of God in everything He has given us – and He has given us everything. Every breath we draw is a gift of His love, every moment of existence is a grace, for it brings with it immense graces from Him.
Gratitude therefore takes nothing for granted, is never unresponsive, is constantly awakening to new wonder and to praise of the goodness of God. For the grateful person knows that God is good, not by hearsay but by experience. And that is what makes all the difference.”
― Thomas Merton

20140605-034648-13608277.jpg
The traditional jump shot. At downtown Chicago.
Photo Credit: Joe Belandres

1 Thessalonians 5:18
In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.

Leave a Reply

